Multicultural Media, Telecom and Internet Council

High Tech Policy Luncheon – 2014 BBSJ Summit

back to 2014 BBSJ Summit Video Selection Page

High Tech Policy Luncheon

Description:  Hear from distinguished leaders that have made inroads on broadband adoption and informed use in their respective fields.  The Luncheon will also recognize some of the most engaging and inspiring leaders that have committed their time to digital equity and inclusion.

Presiding Officer:
Nicol Turner-Lee, Ph.D., Vice President and Chief Research and Policy Officer, MMTC

Bishop Steven Smith, Executive Director, Public Policy Institute and Media & Telecom Project, Rainbow PUSH Coalition

Gigi Sohn, Special Counsel for External Affairs, Office of the Chairman, FCC

Hon. Marc H. Morial, President and CEO, National Urban League; Former Mayor, City of New Orleans

Everett C. Parker Award:
Hon. William E. Kennard, Former Chairman, FCC; Former U.S. Ambassador to the European Union

Champion of Digital Equality Award:
Marva Johnson, Senior Vice President, Bright House Networks

Digital Media Social Justice Award:
Maria Teresa Kumar, President and CEO, Voto Latino

Extraordinary Service Award:
Hon. Karen Kornbluh, Former U.S. Ambassador, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development

Corporate Diversity Leadership Award:
Clear Channel Media and Entertainment – Accepted by: Brendan Kelsay, Director of Government Affairs, Clear Channel

Distinguished Pro Bono Service Award:
Hogan Lovells LLP:  Accepted by: Ari Fitzgerald, Partner, and Deborah Broderson, Associate

Keith Clinkscales, CEO, Revolt Media and TV