Kim. M. Keenan
President and CEO
Maurita Coley
Vice President and COO
Nicol Turner-Lee, Ph.D.
Vice President and Chief
Research and Policy Officer
David Honig
President Emeritus



3636 16<sup>th</sup> Street N.W. Suite B-366 Washington, D.C. 20010 Phone: 202-332-0500 Fax: 202-332-7511 www.mmtconline.org

## Remember MMTC with a Year-End Gift – Help Us to Support Diverse Platforms and Bridge the Digital Divide!

We've had a busy year – and we'd like to share with you some of the stories that defined the past 12 months –

- Our 2015 Entrepreneurs of the Year Kongsue and Xeng Xiong became the first Hmong owners of a broadcast station in Minneapolis after working with MMTC Media and Telecom Brokers.
- Sherry Nelson, Ravi Kapur, and Jeff Chang all became TV station owners after Gray Television hired MMTC Media and Telecom Brokers to manage the sale of six of its full-power TV stations to diverse buyers.
- MMTC led an effort by over 30 of civil rights and social justice partners to expand the FCC's Lifeline program to subsidize the cost of Internet at home for low-income families.
- MMTC joined the effort to heal the pain of exorbitant phone rates imposed on the families of incarcerated persons.
- MMTC influenced the FCC to make significant moves to revitalize AM radio, a tremendous step forward in promoting diverse broadcast ownership
- MMTC launched our new *Net Equality Tour* at the Steve Harvey Neighborhood Awards in Atlanta where we captured stories from 300 people about their use of the Internet.

Kongsue, Xeng, Sherry, Ravi, Jeff, countless radio station owners, and the families that will now benefit from lower prison phone rates are just a few of the many reasons for you to support MMTC. During my first year as President and CEO of MMTC, taking the reins from David Honig, I have been inspired by stories like these and the urgent need for our work. As we approach our 30<sup>th</sup> Anniversary, we ask that you consider making a contribution to advance minority ownership; close the digital divide; create a legacy of multicultural media and telecom owners, suppliers, and content providers; and prepare the next generation of advocates and leaders.

<u>Click here</u> to make your tax deductible, online donation to MMTC now and help to promote diversity in the platforms of the future. You can also make an early contribution in support our 7th Annual Broadband and Social Justice Summit, *30 Years of Changing Channels: Platforms of the Future*, January 20-21, 2015, at the Westin Georgetown in Washington, DC.

Sincerely,

Kim Keenan President and CEO

P.S.: In addition to online giving, I am happy to visit with you personally and to share with you the benefits of a legacy investment or named fellowship in MMTC.

## **BOARD OF DIRECTORS**

Hon. Julia L. Johnson Chair Hon. Deborah Taylor Tate Erwin Krasnow Vice Chairs Ari Fitzgerald Secretary Ronald Johnson Treasurer Hon. Henry M. Rivera Chair Emeritus Dr. Jannette Dates Jeneba Jalloh Ghatt Leo Hindery Deborah Lathen Nicolaine Lazarre Francisco Montero Andrew Schwartzman **Brent Wilkes** 

## **BOARD OF ADVISORS**

Laura Berrocal Hon. Sharon Weston-Broome Hon. Tyrone Brown **Amador Bustos** Angela Campbell Hon. Matthew Carter Belva Davis Hon. Uday Dholakia Erin Dozier Charles Firestone Hon. Russell Frisby David Goodfriend Joel Hartstone Earle Jones Fernando Laguarda Jason Llorenz Jose Mas John Muleta Karen Narasaki Eli Noam Benjamin Perez Rey Ramsey Lawrence Roberts Dr. Jorge Schement Diane Sutter S. Jenell Trigg Linda Eckard Vilardo Joseph Waz, Jr.