Multicultural Media, Telecom and Internet Council

30th Anniversary Awards Reception

Honoring MMTC Champions

Description: MMTC honors late co-founder Everett C. Parker, inducts MMTC heroes into its Hall of Fame, confers the Everett C. Parker Lifetime Achievement Award, and acknowledges the outstanding dedication and commitment to diversity from Congressional staffers on Capitol Hill. Andrea Hoffman and Kathey Porter discuss and sign copies of their book, “The Fifty Billion Dollar Boss: African American Women Sharing Stories of Success in Entrepreneurship and Leadership.”

Presiding Officers:

  • Kim M. Keenan, President and CEO, MMTC
  • Erwin Krasnow, Partner, Garvey Schubert Barer; Vice Chair, MMTC Board of Directors

Presentations of Awards:

  • Champion of Digital Equality Award:
    • Henry “Hank” Williams, Founder, (posthumously, accepted by his wife, Mayida Zaal)
  • MMTC Hall of Fame Inductees:
    • George E. Curry, President and CEO, George Curry Media, LLC; Former Editor-in-Chief,
    • Mee Moua, President and Executive Director, Asian Americans Advancing Justice | AAJC
  • Extraordinary Service Award:
    • Presented by Nicol Turner-Lee, Ph.D., Vice President and Chief Research and Policy Officer, MMTC
    • Awardees:
      • Clint Odom, Democratic General Counsel, U.S. Senate Committee on Commerce, Science and Transportation
      • David Redl, Chief Counsel, Subcommittee on Communications and Technology, U.S. House of Representatives
      • Timothy Robinson, Senior Policy Counsel and Legislative Director, Office of Congressman Bobby Rush

Tribute to Dr. Everett C. Parker:

  • David Honig, President Emeritus and Senior Advisor, MMTC

Presentation of Everett C. Parker Lifetime Achievement Award:

  • Presented by David Honig and Kim Keenan
  • S. Jenell Trigg, Member, Lerman Senter; Member, MMTC Board of Advisors

Back to Video Menu